

## Honorary Co-Chairs Governor John E. Baldacci

United States Senator Olympia J. Snowe United States Senator Susan M. Collins Congressman Thomas H. Allen Congressman Michael H. Michaud

**Dinner Co-Chairs** 

David Ott

Joe Wishcamper

Spurwink is pleased to honor **William J. Ryan** as our 2006 Humanitarian of the Year.

"Bill Ryan is an icon in Maine," said Spurwink President Peter McPherson. "He has given tirelessly of his time, talent and resources to make Maine a better place for so many people. We are thrilled he has accepted this well deserved honor as Spurwink's 20th Humanitarian of the Year."

William J. Ryan is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of TD Banknorth Inc. In this position, he oversees all banking and financial services for TD Banknorth in eight northeastern states, making TD Banknorth one of the 25 largest commercial banking organizations in the United States.

Bill also serves as Director and Vice Chairman of TD Bank Financial Group, as well as the Group Head of U.S. Personal and Commercial Banking.

In his community life, Bill serves on the Board of Directors of WellPoint, Inc., and UnumProvident Corporation, and as a Trustee of Colby College and the Libra Foundation. He also serves on the Board of Advisors at the University of New England, and participates in various civic and professional activities.

In 2004, Ryan received the March of Dimes' national Franklin Delano Roosevelt

> Leadership Award in recognition of his work and advocacy for the mission of the organization. Ryan is one of only seven recipients to receive this prestigious honor throughout the 60-year history of the March of Dimes.

"Every aspect of Bill's life embodies values of responsibility, service and citizenship," said Dinner Co-Chair Joe Wishcamper, "He is a true humanitarian."

Dinner Co-Chair David Ott adds, "Bill Ryan chose community banking as his profession because of his belief in community and vision of the positive impact his industry and leadership can make. Maine is fortunate to be the beneficiary of Bill's talents and work." Chris Harte and Katherine Stoddard Pope Colleen Khoury Sam Ladd Stephen Langsdorf Terrence J. MacTaggart Joe Manning Kevin McCarthy Chris McCormick Dick and Carolyn McGoldrick Peter McPherson Bob Monks and Bonnie Porta Robert Moore Ken and Mary Nelson P. Andrews Nixon **Rich Pattenaude** Don Perkins Peter and Trudi Riesenberg Sharon Roberts David and Betty Small Greg and Tanya Shapiro Jonathan Shapiro Peter Vigue David Warren Steve Woods

Dinner Committee Members

Ed Dinan Chris Emmons Sandra Featherman Dan Fishbein Morris Fisher Michael Higgins Erin Hoeflinger Charlie Gendron Leon and Lisa Gorman Mickey Greene Betsey and Dan Greenstein Kevin Hancock

William Adams

Peter and Lori Anastos

Joan Benoit Samuelson

David and Donna Banks

Jerry Ade

Meg Baxter

Sara Burns

Donnie Carroll

William Caron

John Coleman

James Conlon

Vince Conti

Honorary Dinner Co-Chairs

Al and Judy Glickman

## **Steering Committee Members**

Norm Albert Joe Boulos David Bronson George Campbell Joe Hanson Mike Kelley Mike McNamara Carol Mitchell Jeff Nathanson John Opperman Pam Plumb Carol Wishcamper Larry Wold 20th Annual Spurwink Humanitarian of the Gear Award Event

A special evening honoring

William J. Ryan

**Saturday, November 4, 2006** Sable Oaks Marriott in South Portland

**Cocktail Reception** 5:30-7:00 p.m.

**Dinner and Program** 7:30 p.m.-9:15 p.m.

**Dancing to The Tony Boffa Band** 9:30 p.m.-Midnight

Black tie optional

Proceeds will benefit Spurwink, The Spurwink Institute, TSS, Inc. and the Augusta Boys & Girls Club for Teens

The favor of a reply is requested

For more information, call (207) 871-1200, ext 135 or e-mail wpierce@spurwink.org